Transplant anniversary

Today is my 11th anniversary since I had a kidney transplant.

The reason for the post is because it is something that inspires me everyday because it is something I have to live with everyday.

I was diagnosed with kidney failure in 2004 at the age of 12. I then went onto dialysis at home for six days a week, nine hours a night. I had this for 13 months until I got the phone call on the 7th November. On the 9th November I went down to surgery to have the transplant. I was very nervous, excited and scared at the new life I would have of not being ill and making a road to recovery.

That was 11 years ago. Since then I finished school, went to college and graduated university in 2013. For me to keep going and to keep surviving I have to take medication everyday and night for the rest of my life. I have to go to hospital appointments a few times a year as well as for check ups. In all honesty it does get me down but I am so grateful to the donor and their family. As their kindness in making such a tough decision in a difficult time has helped me live my life so far and I will continue to do so. If it was not for their decision I would not have had the transplant and achieved as much as I had without the kind thought.

With that in the kindness of a stranger with a life changing decision, think about it! Are you an organ donor? Has it ever crossed your mind? Yes or no? Either way let your family or friends know if you do and if you do not, but I hope you do register and become an organ donor, no matter where you are in the world.

One thought on “Transplant anniversary

Leave a Reply

