The fast paced lifestyle

The majority of people nowadays owns a smart phone of some kind. With these smart phones there are many apps to choose from that cater to every aspect of life. From what we eat to help us to sleep. Every social media app at our fingertips.

With all this information just at our fingertips on a fast paced, click your fingers basis, sometimes that does not transpire into reality of everyday life. But that is the problem isn’t it? There becomes an expectation moreover a requirement of life is that it should be just as quick as a phone. We all know this is not how things perspire.

I would like to point out that I do love having all different apps for different things in my life, especially the social media aspects. But my issue is not the actual phones or apps, but more the attitude that transfers.

I find today as a bigger issue that people only look after number one, that common decency, kindness and courteous behaviour seems to lack. That the attitude of I can do what I want, when I want the attitude of me, me, me. For me this fits into the fast paced lifestyle because the single wants of I want and I need follow from the point of information being at the click of our fingers.

People want to do something all the time, be somewhere all the time and do something all the time. Firstly there is not enough hours in the day. Secondly there is also the problem of always doing, which can lead to stress and even sleepless nights in the extremities. But the point I am making is overall we do not know how to relax anymore.

We as a society do not know how to switch off, we are always tweeting a thought, sharing a picture of where we are in that second onto Instagram and tagging what restaurant we are at on Facebook. It never ends does it? Life is that fast paced that people take a holiday where there is no internet connection, like seriously people are that addicted they have to take a holiday in the middle of nowhere? Verging on the ridiculous if you ask me. It is a problem that the only way people zone out is having no connection. Then it says a lot about the society and world we live in.

We put too much emphasis onto an app on a phone. Instead read a book. Play a game. Have a laugh. Without your fingers being glued to a small object that makes life faster and faster and there are only 24 hours in a day. Just learn to switch off, relax and enjoy the moment and more importantly slow down!

Leave a Reply

